Regulations for Crossing the Georgian Border in connection with the COVID-19 pandemic

COVID-19 vaccinated Georgian nationals and residents coming back to Georgia

- Citizens of Georgia who have conducted the full course of vaccination (two doses, one dose in case of Johnson & Johnson) against Covid-19 in Georgia are exempt from the obligation to provide a negative PCR test result obtained 72 hours prior to their visit to Georgia, when entering Georgia through the land border.   Vaccines accepted are: AstraZeneca (SK Bioscience), AstraZeneca (Vaxzevria), Covaxin, Covishield, Covovax, Janssen, Moderna (Spikevax), Nuvaxovid (Novavax), Pfizer-BioNTech (Comirnaty), Sinopharm, and Sinovac.

- does not require pre-registration

Non-vaccinated Georgian nationals and residents coming back to Georgia

Georgian citizens presenting the negative PCR test conducted within 72 hours prior to the visit, will be subject to either 8-day self-isolation or to the optional PCR examination at their own expense on the 3rd day of their stay in Georgia. If self-isolation is not possible, they will be subject to a mandatory quarantine;

If Georgian citizens fail to submit the document confirming the PCR examination at the border, they will be placed in self-isolation for 8 days, and if self-isolation is not possible, they will be subject to a mandatory quarantine.

PCR certificate must be in Georgian, English or Russian. 


Vaccinated citizens of foreign countries, traveling from any country may enter Georgia under following conditions:

present one of the mentioned below:

- the document confirming the full course conduct (two doses, one dose in case of Johnson & Johnson) of any COVID-19 vaccinationVaccines accepted are: AstraZeneca (SK Bioscience), AstraZeneca (Vaxzevria), Covaxin, Covishield, Covovax, Janssen, Moderna (Spikevax), Nuvaxovid (Novavax), Pfizer-BioNTech (Comirnaty), Sinopharm, and Sinovac.

- documents confirming recovery from the Covid-infection (confirmed positive PCR-test) during the last 100 days and one dose conduct of any vaccination listed by the WHO for emergency use. The sequence of infection and vaccination does not make difference, at least 14 days must be passed from the moment of vaccination.

- does not require PCR test

- does not require pre-registration

Entry rules for non-vaccinated citizens of foreign countries

Citizens and residence permit holders of the following states may enter Georgia under the conditions mentioned below:

European Union Member States, State of Israel, Republic of Turkey, Swiss Confederation., Kingdom of Norway, United States of America, Canada, The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, State of Qatar, State of Kuwait, United Arab Emirates, Kingdom of Bahrein, Republic of Azerbaijan, Ukraine, Republic of Moldova, Republic of Kazakhstan, Russian Federation, Republic of Belarus, Republic of Uzbekistan, Republic of Tajikistan, Republic of Kyrgyzstan, Turkmenistan, People’s Republic of China, Japan, Republic of Korea, The Sultanate of Oman, Republic of San Marino, Principality of Monaco, Republic of Serbia, Republic of Iceland, Principality of Liechtenstein, Montenegro, Principality of Andorra, Republic of Albania, Republic of Northern Macedonia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan, Republic of Iraq, Lebanese Republic

Conditions of entry for non-vaccinated visitors:

- They must travel directly from the above-mentioned countries, including transit travel through third countries;

- At the border checkpoint they shall present a negative result of the PCR test conducted in the last 72 hours prior their visit to Georgia; PCR examination certificate must be in Georgian, English or Russian.

- On the 3rd day of their stay, they are obliged to undergo PCR-examination at their own expense;

- Before crossing the state border, they must complete the special application form, indicating the travel history of the last 14 days, contact details (address, phone number, email etc.)

- Any person under the age of 10 (regardless of nationality) is exempted from the obligation to submit a negative PCR test in the last 72 hours prior to the visit to Georgia and to conduct a PCR examination on the third day.

Except for the above-mentioned categories, the restrictions on entry to Georgia do not apply to:

- Representatives of the diplomatic missions and international organizations accredited to Georgia and their family members;

- Family members of Georgian citizens, despite their nationality.

- Persons arriving in Georgia as part of humanitarian mission – if a trip of such mission (doctors, volunteers, etc.) to Georgia becomes a necessity;

- Individuals who have been granted the status of stateless person by the respective authorities of Georgia;

- Individuals holding status-neutral ID card or travel documents; 

- Individuals having a refugee status in Georgia;

- Members of official delegations (will be decided on a case-to-case basis); 

- Train and truck drivers, involved in international road traffic, international railway personnel, involved in in the carriage of goods by rail, as well as the members of the aircraft crew.

The above requirements are provided by a third-party source and subject to change without prior notice. Please check the IATA Travel Centre, website of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Georgia , and at before your flight to get the latest updates on the requirements at the country you are travelling from and arriving to.

For transit passenger(s), travelling via Baku (GYD) from the Georgia to other countries, the rules/conditions governing entry at the final destination of the transit passenger(s) shall be applicable.

If the destination country requires, it is necessary to obtain a certificate of negative coronavirus test in one of the branches of Synevo laboratory ( or to provide a certificate of a negative PCR-test result for COVID-19 which contains a QR code (the authenticity of which will be verified on the check-in desks).